Kuroko no Basuke Doujinshi: Loser~ Takao-kun and Midorima-kun were being XXX by the senpais

I usually don’t write about doujinshis due to the sheer amount of them within the market but this is an exception. I’m not sure whether I had mentioned this before, but most of the yaoi market are usually targeted at women and hence, typically represents women fantasies on romance, relationships, body types and male characterisation. Most yaoi doujinshi that I can get my hands on seem to represent these types of thematic concerns rather faithfully: an emphasis on relationship development rather than sex per se, slim slender bodies for guys and a greater focus on character vulnerability and emotional expressiveness even if (and usually is) it is OOC (Out of Character.),

Rarely had I been able to read a yaoi doujinshi which caters more towards the male market. This means including themes of immediate sexual gratification, a dismissal of emotional vulnerability in guys and greater sexual experimentation such as bondage and sado-masochism. I know that I am at the risk of making certain generalisations on the male and female market and I’m not denying that there are certain male and female individuals who have strong preferences outside of what is expected of their gender. However, that doesn’t mean that there isn’t a particular dominant discourse, prevalent in deciding certain market trends in the types of doujinshi that would sell more towards a female market.

This doujinshi proves to be one of the outliers; I’m fascinated by how well the cum scenes and portrayals of Midorima and Takao (a bit weird in the title scene though) are:

I’m a shameless Midorima X Takao fan so I’m definitely purchasing this. XD It’s from the doujinshi circle: kuzumochi くずもち which is the name of a delectable type of mochi for your information. ^_^ I strongly encourage everyone who’s interested in this to make their purchase from here, since it’s less than what, 600 yen which is around 7USD? I also believe that if you’re really interested in having a stronger male presence in the doujinshi market, you need to support the circles that are producing them because the doujinshi market is highly competitive and needs strong backers and support to survive, Unfortunately, the company does not ship internationally so you have to either stay in Japan, or get the service of a carrier. If you need any help getting someone within Japan to ship it for you, I personally know of certain reliable carriers who are amazing at what they do, or heck if worst comes to worst, I can deliver it for you. Drop me an email if you need any help in purchasing it. 🙂

P.S Grammar rant: The original title of the doujinshi is LOSER~高尾君と緑間君が先輩達にXXXされちゃう話~ which is almost grammatically untranslatable in English. XXX means sex generally so I originally tried to translate it as: “Takao-kun and Midorima-kun were having sex by the senpais.” But this wrong because されちゃう is a combination of the される (passive form) and the ちゃう form. To translate it into the passive form is bad enough, remember:

Active voice: I ate the apple

Passive voice: The apple was eaten by me.

Active voice: The senpais were having sex with Takao-kun and Midorima-kun.

Passive voice: Takao-kun and Midorima-kun were being sexed by the senpais??? Sounds wrong. “Sex” as a verb cannot be expressed in the passive voice (but then I’m not good in grammar so if there’s anyone who can enlighten me please drop me a comment.)

Secondly, the ちゃう form which expresses regret, shame, disappointment cannot be translated simplistically into the sentence. If all the elements of the original sentence must be translated, it’ll be: “Takao-kun and Midorima-kun were being XXX by the senpais which caused them to feel shame and guilt” but no translator will ever do that. >.<

11 thoughts on “Kuroko no Basuke Doujinshi: Loser~ Takao-kun and Midorima-kun were being XXX by the senpais

  1. About that ‘passive voice’ thing, I think it would be: “*** was being had by the senpais with Takao-kun and Midorima-kun.” LOL. Sorry, I’m not being serious…Your sentence is way closer to passive voice than mine. XD
    Haha, I didn’t know you liked Takao x Midorima.
    By the way, that doujinshi is kind of scary…XD No offence.

    • Oh yeah I have loads of experience with bara so I’m rather numb to this kinda things already haha but I remembered it left a bitter taste in my mouth upon my first view! XD Midorima and Takao is my favorite pairing in kurobasu but tbh, Akashi’s my favorite character! 😉

  2. I think it’s a pitty, that there aren’t more doujinshi about this pairing.. And I’d really like to buy that doujinshi, – but as you pointed out already, they don’t ship internationally.. and I couldn’t find it in any other shop (that I know of at least)…And I’m not experienced with any other mail services but the ones that ship directly and internationally… – But if I’m not mistaken you made a post about that, right? I’m going to check it out next!!

    Uhmm.. and I don’t know, If you know/like/watched/read the Gravitation-series by Maki Murakami, – but I wanted to mention it just in case.. If you are looking for explicit boyonboy-material.. – well, I adore this mangaka! And because she’s so cool and outstanding (and maybe because she thought “if you want it to be the way you like it, you have to do it by yourself”), she realized the (most beautiful) doujinshi for her own series by herself together with her circle “Crocodile Avenue”…I’m sorry I have no sample links right now… – It’s an older (doujinshi)series, but if you are in Japan it shouldn’t be a problem to get a proper look into her works..=D

    hope this comment was in any way helpful for you ^_^° If there are any questions, feel free to ask right away..

    • I’m going to Japan by the end of the year; would you like me to purchase it for you if they still have a copy of it? (There most probably will be.) You can just pay for all the shipping and handling charges. XD

      Gravitation I watched it years ago and but it didnt leave a lasting impression on me but that was because i was too smittened by Junjou then! Maybe I’ll give it a shot again! XD

  3. Ah-! And for the translation of the title- issue, I’d have another (bold) suggestion… I’d leave the xxx-part untranslated as it is, as well, – since it’s part of the original title… and the -ちゃう.. if I remember my teacher correctly, it can also express a feeling of something happening unintended, or emphazise the fulfillment of an act.. – At this point I’d like to apologize, for my japanese is still very poor, and my english modest (for I’m german nativ actually), but let’s try… hmm 1:”Takao-kun and Midorima-kun are/get xxx-ed by their senpais thoroughly” OR (which gives it kind of a different feeling..) ->2: “Takao-kun and Midorima-kun happen to get xxx-ed by their senpais”…. and of course, it’s closer to the original to say THE senpais, not THEIR senpais..but I figured, to use “their”, – it’s got a nicer and more intimate ring to it.. XD…

    Well, I hope I’m not too far off with my suggestions =3

    • I dont like how Kuroko is being drawn and I think that Midorima looks better in their first publication. I’d corresponded with kuzumochi and I know that they are producing new material. I like that they are continuing in the direction that they are and I’ll definitely support them! If you need me to buy a copy when I’m in Japan, let me know! 😀

      • I have to admit, seeing Kuroko drawn like this, I had to get used to it… I especially like how Akashi was drawn and the Nijimura flashback pic… Nijimura on the receiving side… I don’t know, but I liked the picture:) I already liked this guy on the manga, so seeing him as the bottom is just putting the cherry on the cake.
        I would seriously love to get a copy of it… But I don’t know how to… I never bought something overseas even though I work together with a japanese woman and she told me she would buy something for me, but I’m too embarrassed asking her to buy it (It’s Yaoi after all>///<)

        Hope you can understand me; english is my fourth language…

Leave a Reply

